Galentine’s Day: Celebrating the Love of Friendship Leslie Knope Style

One of the reasons I love Leslie Knope from Parks and Recreation (and there are many), is the way she celebrates her friendships. Leslie has nothing but love for her best gal pal Ann Perkins and is constantly showing her that love in many, sometimes slightly concerning, ways.  To celebrate womankind overall, Leslie started Galentine’s Day.  On this day, February 13th, women celebrate each other and and the beautiful love that is friendship.

OK- so maybe Leslie goes a bit overboard and adds a slight creep factor with the soda can murals, but she does it for the right reasons-love of the women in her life.

I think the love that comes with true friendship is one of the best things in life.  I don’t know where I would be without the love and support of my best girls.  Other than my family, my girls have been a true constant in my life and have seen me through life’s highs and lows.  They have made me laugh out loud while in the midst of crying in despair, and they put up with all of my annoying quirks- like telling the same story over again because I love it so much.

Leslie Knope

Being a single woman in february can be hard.  When the world around us is constantly reminding us of everything that is romantic and perfect, and that we do not have a part in it.  But I think Valentine’s Day is missing out on some great marketing by only focusing on romantic love.  Our society in general places too narrow of a focus on the many different kinds of love that exist simultaneously in our lives.  Valentine’s should be used to celebrate every kind of love- think about the movie Love Actually and how amazing it was to see all varieties of love explored.  Sure we all want to be a part of the Colin Firth story line (because what woman in the world- gay or straight- does not want that beautiful face staring up at them on a balcony and declaring his love for you?), but what about looking at love Bill Nighy style and recognizing your love for your ugly manager/ best friend?  I want to celebrate that kind of love- and Galentine’s is a way to embrace that.

So, this February, I think it only right that I intentionally take time to let the true loves of my life know how much I love them.  Girls- this is for you- you know who you are, and you mean the world to me.  This month I celebrate you and recognize the greatness of Galentine’s Day.

You are the Ann Perkins to my Leslie Knope, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Leslie and Ann

Leave a Reply

